In 1982 Victoria led the way nationally when the State Government transferred prosecution decisions from the executive government to an independent Director of Public Prosecutions (DPP).

The creation of the position of DPP was affected by legislation which was passed in late 1982 and which came into operation in June 1983.

Victoria was the first jurisdiction in Australia to establish an independent Director of Public Prosecutions; the Commonwealth and other States and Territories subsequently passed similar legislation.

Victoria's DPPs have been:

  • John Harber Phillips AC QC (1983–1984)
  • John Coldrey QC (1984–1991)
  • Bernard Bongiorno QC (1991–1994)
  • Geoffrey Flatman QC (1995–2001)
  • Paul Coghlan QC (2001–2007)
  • Jeremy Rapke QC (2007–2011)
  • John Champion S.C. (2011–2017)
  • Kerri Judd QC (2018–present)

The pursuit of justice: 25 years of the DPP

The DPP and Office of Public Prosecutions researched and produced a commemorative book The Pursuit of Justice: 25 years of the DPP to mark 25 years of the independent prosecutions service in Victoria.